Wanderer’s Children by L.G. O’Connor (Book Two in the Angelorum Twelve series)

DISCLOSURE: I was provided a free copy of this eBook in exchange for my honest review. I also participated in beta reading the final manuscript.

When I reviewed The Trinity Stones, the first book in the Angelorum Twelve series, I mentioned how difficult it was to write that review without referring to plot points from the then unpublished second book. Now, I can write about that second book (but still…no spoilers)!

I have another disclosure to make: This genre, and in fact, L.G. O’Connor’s writing style are very different from what I usually read. Because of the theme of Angel-lore, with which I am completely unfamiliar, there were times when reading both The Trinity Stones and Wanderer’s Children that I got a little lost.

That said, I really enjoyed the story, the world-building is rich, complicated and ongoing, and I am fully engaged with the main protagonist, Cara Collins, and several other characters in these books. L.G. O’Connor’s writing style is very direct, very contemporary. There is grittiness that adds to the feeling of the book being truly about people in their twenties and thirties. The author has an honest, open and fun approach to the sex scenes that is refreshing. If you’re looking for flowery euphemisms, this is not the place to find them! The story is paced well, with plenty of action and attraction. For readers who are fans of paranormal urban romance, I think you’ll really enjoy this series. If you have some background knowledge of angel-lore, it will add to your enjoyment of this book.

I read The Wanderer’s Children as a beta reader before I read The Trinity Stones, and found that while I could read it as a free-standing book, I would definitely recommend reading these books in sequence. Ms. O’Connor builds her paranormal world and relationships as she advances the story and a good deal of context for the second book would be lost if the reader didn’t read Trinity Stones first.

The Wanderer’s Children introduces Brett, a rock star, and Cara’s closest girl friends. The romantic relationship that is really central in this book is between Michael, Cara’s Trinity Messenger, and Sienna, Cara’s childhood friend. Michael and she have an electric relationship. At first, they are very contentious but the friction evolves into a fiery romance. Both Sienna and Michael have issues they must overcome in order to trust one another, and to let their relationship bloom into something more than a very hot physical connection. The storyline focuses on Michael, but leads toward exploring Sienna’s past in the next book. I really want to see what happens with them, and learn more about Sienna!

Brett is another wonderfully complex character. A successful rock star, he is drawn first to Cara. With a few bumps along the way, Cara and Brett become more like close siblings and Brett falls head over heels for another of Cara’s friends, Jessamine. That relationship isn’t explored much in Wanderer’s Children — and again, I am looking forward to find out how their bumpy road to love might turn out. You see, Jessamine’s stepfather….(oh…no, I can’t give up that detail…you’ll have to read the book!) There’s also a budding relationship between Irene, another of Cara’s friends, and Paco, a Nephalim.  Irene is being used by the NSA for purposes that are not yet clear. Paco is nursing a broken heart from losing his human wife nearly forty years earlier. Even though the beginnings of this attraction are barely explored, I can tell that their road isn’t going to be smooth either.

The relationships are what hooked me in and kept me reading through the moment when I had difficulties with the genre. L.G. writes such whole, relatable, flawed and likeable characters. That’s why I’m surprised that I haven’t connected emotionally with Simon. Of all the characters I’ve met in these books (and there are a lot of significant characters) Simon is the one that seems most opaque to me. Since the rest of her characters are so complete, I wonder if this is a deliberate technique on the author’s part.

A few additional subplots are interwoven throughout the book. The demons, Emenalech and Achanelech are perfect as the evil-doers who are trying to get back into Lucifer’s good graces. And Escher Grant, another evil character, is worse yet. At the very end of the book, there’s the introduction of a major plotline for the Book Three, which involves Constantina, the angel who is providing guidance to the Twelve in understanding their evolving role. There are betrayals in the air, alliances being established, and rogues to uncover. This book has a LOT going on! I can even imagine The Wanderer’s Children working as two complete books, where each touches on the Brett/Jessamine or Irene/Paco story lines along with further advancing some of the core plot of getting to the battle for Earth.

L.G. O’Connor has conceived a very complicated story, with many moving parts, but which she is weaving together well. If I have any criticism of this series it is that there is so much going on in each book, and that there is a foundation in angel-lore that can be confusing for a reader new to those concepts. The glossary and cast of characters included in the book are helpful, but as a general rule, I tend to use those resources either during my reading or after I’ve completed a book to fit the pieces together.

I definitely recommend The Wanderer’s Children as a follow up read to Trinity Stones and look forward to the next release by L.G. O’Connor. You can find it on Amazon.com at http://www.amazon.com/Wanderers-Children-Angelorum-Twelve-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B00O062B70/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1419475921&sr=1-1&keywords=the+wanderer%27s+children

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

