Inspired by a Hedgehog

Oh hell, one of my writerly friends (https://angela10551.wordpress.com/2015/04/30/the-hedgehog-goes-to-school/comment-page-1/#comment-121) inspired me again. Several weeks ago,(actually around 2.5, but who’s counting) I began a Fiction Writing class (no, it was absolutely NOT free, not like Angela’s ::pouting::) at Gotham Writers in New York City. Nothing like diving head first into the uber-competitive waters. Well, nothing ventured nothing gained, right?

I’ve now had three, three-hour classes. Session 1: Character. Session: 2: Plot. Session 3: Point of View. All VERY valuable lessons for someone who has been told endlessly throughout her life what a good writer she is, and who has never attempted fiction before. And who has also never attempted to be trained as a writer. It’s effing hard. Really effing hard. I expected it wouldn’t be easy, but never expected this. Ah well, nothing ventured nothing gained, right?

This past Monday, I had to turn in a piece for critique by the class next week. I’d originally planned to submit something I’d worked on for hours, honed carefully. And then, on Sunday night, I decided I absolutely, positively had to rework it. With extensive dialog, so that I was showing and not telling. So I rewrote and, in the process, re-researched and submitted it on Monday, along with the homework assignment (write a scene of man against nature and don’t let the reader know who’s going to win until the end — if at all) and along with a critique of another classmates’ work. ::heavy sigh:: Have I mentioned it’s effing hard? Oh well, nothing ventured, nothing gained, right?

So, seven weeks from now, I will have completed my first formal writing class. I will hopefully have something close to a short story; possibly the first part (central part?) of a novella. I will have learned how to turn in work for critique and, hopefully, how to avoid being terrified about being critiqued. I will have read a lot of good writing. I will hopefully have WRITTEN a lot of good writing. Who knows, maybe something ventured, something gained, right?

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Inspired by a Hedgehog

  1. You and that hedghog inspire me. Honestly, you are so brave and…well, energetic. I have no energy for anything after a long day. Do keep it up, Super Woman.

    • Not superwoman at all. I so need something that’s for me. This is for me. One of the last words I’d use to describe myself is energetic. Tired. Now THAT’S a good word. Tired and stubborn.

  2. More power to your elbow, lady!

    • Tracey Curzon-Manners

      I thought I’d left a longer comment but for some reason only the last part was published…?
      Anyway, I started by saying yes, you are brave in doing the creative writing course. It does require energy, determination and focus. I truly wish you well and look forward to reading, what I’m sure will be, excellent results!

  3. Rita Jones

    Something Gained ❤

  4. Keep going on, doll! We’ll wait here for you to tell us how it goes 🙂

  5. Sorry I’m only reading this now. So, how did it go? Did you get good feedback? Would be great if you could turn your writing exercises into a novella. I was a member of FanStory for a few years and wrote oodles of poems, short stories and posted novel excerpts, but I fear the feedback was too kind. And then, there’s also The Writer’s Village of which I am still a member. I really should have completed more of the exercises.

    • Thank you so much for reading and commenting. I got amazingly positive feedback and I think the story that is my main WIP is turning into a novella. I do have write a way to go for that length, but I’m sure there is enough story there. Keep checking in here, though. I’ll be posting bits of it as I make progress.

Leave a Reply

